The History of Barrows House
This large inn complex served as the manse of the Reverend William Jackson, pastor of the Dorset Church for 46 years. In 1900, Experience and Theresa Barrows purchased it to be a farm and country inn to serve residents, the traveling public and long term summer boarders, many of whom were writers or artists. A 1939 fire destroyed a rear wing of the building. Renovations included giving the entire structure an overlay of Greek revival features. Later itnerior renovations revealed originial wall stenciling created by an itinerant artisan.
In 2012, the inn was purchased by owners of the Dorset Inn and was redecorated, modernized and reconfigured in the dining space and driveway areas. The inn boasts several cottages, a swimming pool, tennis courts and an outside dining terrace, exceptional gardens along with fine accommodations and dining.